How to disable Open file – Security warning

Posted on Updated on

After installed SP2 for Windows Server 2003 Standard, If I try to run batch files (.bat; .cmd;.lnk;.pif) from the network share, I get an “Open file – Security warning” -dialog where I must confirm that you allow the execution of the unsigned file.

security-warning1.jpg

Basically this prevents scheduled scripts to run on the system. If you are absolutely sure you want to allow the execution without confirmation, you can add the server which shares the executable file(s) in the Internet Explorer’s Local Intranet Zone. The systax is file://servername not http://servername. Note that this action compromises the system security.

13 thoughts on “How to disable Open file – Security warning

    Steve O said:
    July 19, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Thanks for this. It was just starting to annoy me too.

    iswarade responded:
    July 20, 2007 at 9:29 am

    Nice, I can help.

    Xman said:
    November 14, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    How can i do this programatically. Like adding the share to the registry or something like that ?

    M Mustafa said:
    April 30, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Excellent explaination, thanks you so much

    Well done and many thanks again

    Holly said:
    May 31, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Thanks, it’s very useful for me.

    HITESH said:
    July 20, 2009 at 4:51 am

    THANKS DUDE TO SOLV MY PROBLEM

    Eric said:
    October 2, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I am reconfiguring a new terminal server and I can not get this to go away for my terminal server users. It does not affect the admin account, only users. I have tried everything “ever” posted on the internet to no avail. Going on a wekk of trouble shooting already. I use Group Policies to config this but, as best I can tell, the settings are not being applied to the user profiles. I have an older Terminal Server which is accepting the Group Policies just fine. Just this new Terminal Server is causing the pain. Again, I have tried every fix posted to no avail. Any help or sugggestions anyone could toss my way would be greatly appreciated.

    Eric said:
    October 2, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Answered my own problem a few minutes ago.

    The policy “MUST” be set on the terminal server itself directly by running gpedit.msc on the Terminal Server. I was attempting to set the policy using domain policies on the Domain COntroller in Active Directory. Odd, I don’t know why that would not have worked other than maybe the Terminal Server might have had to be in the OU of the policy for it to work. Oh well, it’s fixed now.

    Anonymous said:
    November 2, 2012 at 7:15 am

    thanks this was a great work around

    Lexie said:
    March 26, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Thank you! This worked for me too🙂

    Jake said:
    April 21, 2013 at 12:40 am

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.

    It was really informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    tax accountant toronto said:
    July 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

    It’s really interesting, how did you come up with the concept of discussing this post initially?

Leave a Reply

